For most accidents in the state of Louisiana, the driver who is at fault in the accident is responsible for paying damages to the driver who was not at fault. This means that the at-fault driver’s insurance company would compensate the other driver for the injuries or property damages that they sustained.
But what if the injured party does not have auto insurance? In this case, your claim might be impacted by Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law. The skilled personal injury attorneys at Cueria Law Firm in New Orleans understand Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law. They can help you determine if the law will affect your ability to receive compensation after an accident.
What Does the “No Pay, No Play” Law Mean for Drivers in Louisiana?
Did you know that Louisiana is the second most expensive state in the country when it comes to auto insurance? With about 13% of its drivers uninsured, insurance carriers have to raise their rates to cover the money lost due to uninsured or underinsured drivers every year.
To counteract this, Louisiana has enacted one of the most robust “No Pay, No Play” laws in the country. The law states that uninsured and underinsured drivers cannot collect the first $15,000 of bodily injury damages and the first $25,000 of property damage. Uninsured drivers will have to pay those damages out of pocket. It does not matter if the other driver was at fault or not. If a driver does not have an auto insurance policy of their own, he or she will not be able to sue the other motorist in the event of an injury or property damage.
The purpose of the law is to discourage people from driving without the proper coverage in the state of Louisiana. However, there are some situations where the law will not apply.
Exceptions to the “No Pay, No Play” Law
Drivers are only required to carry Louisiana’s minimum liability insurance, not full coverage. If both drivers have the state-minimum auto insurance requirements, the law will not apply. The state minimums in Louisiana are:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
- $25,000 for property damage liability
The law does not apply to parked cars, to people from other states, or to a passenger’s claim unless the passenger is a co-owner of the vehicle.
The “No Pay, No Play” law also does not apply if the at-fault driver was intoxicated or fled the scene of the accident.
Get the Help You Need at Cueria Law Firm
If you have been in an auto accident in Louisiana, it is essential to seek the legal advice of the experienced personal injury attorneys at Cueria Law Firm. Our attorneys understand the “No Pay, No Play” law and can work with you to determine if you are exempt from this law to get you the maximum compensation possible.
Call our office today to talk to one of our professional Louisiana attorneys.